Forums » General Discussion

Loss of innocent lives

• 5 posts
    November 15, 2015 3:38 PM EST

Right then friends in Jesus, as you will know, if you have read a bit about me, I am relatively new to Christ.

I know and understand we have a God, who we all try our best to be correct in our lives for him as well as ourselves but what I am really struggling with today is, we believe God loves us all and forgives all our trangressions when we sin but why oh why does he allow such huge losses of innocent lives?

112.500 ish lives taken this weekend alone, only one 'batch' of lives lost to natural disaster in a Japan earthquake but all the others have been taken needlessly by t*rr*ri*sts in Paris, Baghdad to name two locations, so if God really does love us as his children, why so many deaths?  Why so many lives and families ruined?  This is what I am struggling with!  Does he love us that much that he would let something happen to me? My two children? My wife to be? My friends & family?

We say Christ has risen and Christ will come again.  When we will never know, not in my lifetime I assume but then I leave my family to what is happening in the world when I pass.

If Christ is to come again, we need him to come soon because I feel praying alone is not enough, by this I mean collectively praying, not myself alone which I do anyway.

So, can anyone help me or convince me we will be safe in God's hand because at the moment i'm not feeling so sure.

Keith

• 275 posts
    November 15, 2015 6:23 PM EST

Hi Keith, I know that it's a difficult subject for many. Dion will probably weigh in on it later, as well. Just a couple of thoughts to ponder: