Forums » General Discussion

Do you belong to a bible study group?

• 4 posts
    March 13, 2015 3:32 PM EDT

I do not.  My life is rather busy.  I'm a college student, work FT and OT.  I have many responsibilities.  Right now I have extra on my plate because my fiance is suffering from muscle tears and fractures from a few falls this past Winter.  So I'm running around doing chores to keep the house clean, etc. 

I go to church.  Lately I missed a few times because Dan (my fiance) is in alot of pain.  I read my bible and I use a concordance to understand the scriptures. 

Do you think it's necessary to join bible study?  I don't feel it's necessary, unless you want to do the analytical type of talks.  I prefer to study on my own.

~Linda

• 137 posts
    March 13, 2015 7:10 PM EDT

We run a small life group at our home every other week. 8 to 12 people. We have dinner and then a short video and questions beased on the Bible, then pray together. For us it is mostly for the fellowship. We have became best friends and when one has a need, we all do.

As far as real Bible study, I usually do that in the morning alone though me and Sylvia have studied together during some months. It is kind of fun to go into seperate rooms and then compare what we think that we heard. Often we find that it is the same. 

I pray that the Lord will bring healing to Dan and protect him from falling any more in the name of Jesus. 

This post was edited by Dion Todd at March 13, 2015 7:12 PM EDT
    • 4 posts
    March 16, 2015 10:14 AM EDT

Thank you Dion for your thoughts on bible study and for that prayer for Dan.  He is in so much pain and his surgery isn't until March 27th. Thank you.

Linda

• 1 posts
    April 1, 2015 12:30 PM EDT

Yes, we go to a home group Bible study every other week with anywhere from 5-15 people attending on a given night. We are studying 1 Corinthians in detail. It's a great way to create a close bond with church friends through prayer and discussion!

• 2 posts